Checkpoint RF Detection Gates

Well for those of you who read my earlier posts, you may remember that I stated that we needed to update our library security, in terms of RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags or tattle tapes, a book desensitizer and some form of library security at the door.  If you didn’t well now you know, but I finally think I found the solution to that problem in terms of the Checkpoint RF Detection Gates.

These gates use radio frequency technology without automated checkout, sorting or circulation and sound an alarm if an item passes through that hasn’t been desensitized. It can be also be mounted via base plates. To me it sounds as if this doesn’t need an integrated library management system (LIS) to work. If so this sounds like the perfect security gate for us!!

Well me being a big library geek I contacted our representative at the supplier and now I’m awaiting a reply (What’s taking so long that was thirty minutes ago!:) ). I would definitely do a happy dance if we are able to purchase this.

So people keep you fingers crossed (and if possible your toes too 🙂 ). I would definitely keep you updated on our progress.

You can drool on the gates like I did (that is if you’re a huge library geek like me) by looking at the picture below, if not you can look at the picture to get an idea of what to expect.

TTYL 🙂

Checkpoint RF Detection Gates

Checkpoint RF Detection Gates

About WRlibrarian

Currently employed with the Water and Sewerage Authority at the Water Resources Agency, I have taken the opportunity to create an innovative and exciting blog to make staff aware of library related activities, as well as, relevant information that can have an impact on the Agency's operation.
This entry was posted in Library Equipment, Library Security and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Checkpoint RF Detection Gates

  1. WRlibrarian says:

    The suppliers have received my email and are looking into the possibility of ordering the item. So I guess we just have to wait and see :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

